Marina Bay of Angels

Marina Baie des Anges, Côte d’Azur 

Claudie and I motored out to the bay east of Antibes called Baie des Anges, The Bay of Angels.  The point of interest here is the Marina, a series of interlinked apartment blocks that must be of the most remarkable in the world.  It was completed in 1960 and the designer was André Minangoy.  It was the time of other historic achievements – the Guggenheim Museum in New York (Lloyd Wright, 1959); Brasilia in Brazil (Niemeyer, 1960).

Marina 4

What is so striking when viewing the Marina from a little distance is, that, like four flattish pyramids, their upper line takes the eye on a wave-like motion.  As you get closer you see that each one is S-curled in itself!  I have seldom, if ever, seen such organic design.  When you’re walking near them, next to them, the wave motif becomes even more pronounced.

www.willwilltravel.wordpress.com

Each block has about 17 floors and people have made their own little gardens on the terraces.  The bay itself has forests of yacht masts and judging from the car models parked there you realise that this is the territory of the Income Bracket.  The place was empty of people, though – a slightly unreal overcast and deserted world.  The beaches were ruins of driftwood and twisted grey seaweed, the remains of a savage storm some weeks before, desolation at the feet of splendour.

www.willwilltravel.wordpress.com

Will van der Walt ©

Mercredi 30 Novembre 2011

www.willwilltravel.wordpress.com

Image Sourcesageheureux.canterblog.net and Will 

11 Responses to Marina Bay of Angels

  1. Kenneth Margo says:

    Sounds nice,but 4 the wealthy.

    • Oh, it is for the wealthy. I love acting as if I’ve just parked my porsche. But the very cheap public transport makes much possible for someone who does not in reality have much money.

  2. Bing says:

    Hi
    I saw the picture which I feel it very beautiful. Are you in France now? There is winter now and it is very cold. Hope you can have a nice chirstams there.

    • Thank you for your reply, Bing. Yes, I’m still in France. The weather has been very uncertain and I’ve been confined to the apartment, but will continue my visits once the sun shines again. I’ll be back in SA on 21 Feb. Best wishes, Will

  3. Majoie says:

    Hi Willem,

    It’s very nice how you describe these interesting buildings! I was there about two months ago and we drove along them. But I didn’t notice all these details as you decribe them, fascinating!

    Majoie

    • Thank you for your response, Majoie. I sometimes have to pinch myself and say I’m in Europe, it’s real. My stop-over for two hours at Schiphol Airport was wonderful – even a few originals from the Rijks and my first Uitsmuijter since 1972! Keep well.

Comment Here

