St Paul de Vence revisited

Of the villages perchés that I have visited in this region Gourdon and St Paul de Vence rank high.

                       St Paul de Vence

But on this visit a shock awaited me.  In the four years since I was there last, the shops have trebled.  The charm of this medieval place though, is intact – the narrow cobbled streets, sometimes with overhanging buildings, the doorways, the disappearing alleyways, the stone arches, stone walls and ramparts, tiled rooves and the Tower, characteristic of these villages in the south of France.

                   Alley way

                  St Paul de Vence Chapel

Painting of a street by Giasiotowski

            Work in an art shop

I went to the cemetery looking for a plaque on D.H. Lawrence who was buried there for some time before being exhumed and reburied in Mexico, according to his last wishes.  What I did find was Marc Chagall’s grave, tenderly decorated with little pepples.  I added mine.

                 Rest in Peace Marc Chagall

It is a place of public art, with works that surprise you as you round a corner.

        Surprise around the corner

I photographed the much-photographed amphora which, I noticed, for the first time, bears the date 1850, ten years before the Côte d’Azur became French.

                     St Paul amphora 1850

My two friends and I then had a pavement picnic while the unceasing lines of tourists arrived and left.  This will enter the archive of my special memories.

© Will van der Walt

www.willwilltravel.wordpress.com

Les Semboules, Antibes

August, 2017

 

Images

My photographs

 

Dedicated, with gratitude, to Graham and Elna

2 Responses to St Paul de Vence revisited

  1. td.sayer says:

    Lovely! Do all of those hilltop villages have walls, I wonder?

    Sent from my Samsung device

Comment Here

