The “Me” project

Principals of schools didn’t particularly like my approach to teaching because, for me, exams and results were not the top priority.  I share with language teachers a project I did with students over many years, usually Grade 11.  I called it the “Me” project and it was a type of autobiography that they had to write.  I gave them a mark, usually under “Writing”.  This project produced some of the richest and most fascinating work I ever looked at as a teacher.  Some students dived right in and once one of them even gave me a shoe box of toys she had loved as a small child with her project.  I was deeply moved.

I gave them two terms to do the work with a deadline at the beginning of the third term, plus frequent reminders.  I also discussed the content of the project for at least two periods and gave them a printed hand-out with suggested lists.  Details that helped were, What are your parents’ strong points?  How do you get on with your siblings?  Do you have an unforgettable day that you have had?  Offer reasons for your favourite music.  What are your greatest difficulties as a teenager?  Of course, they could add as many images, photographs, etc., that they liked.  I have no memory of a principal or even a colleague ever asking me “But is it in the syllabus?”  I’d rather not imagine what my answer would have been. 

Meeting past students years later it was the “Me” project that they remembered.  And it would be a valuable time capsule for them as they grew older.   At the heart of it they were learning self-knowledge and using language to express it. 

©  Will

www.willwilltravel.wordpress.com

Bridgewater, Somerset West

May, 2023

My graphic. 

One Response to The “Me” project

  1. Heidi-Marie says:

    I’m sure you were an awesome teacher! We need to think out of the box for creativity.

Comment Here